ARC Review: Daughter of the Moon Goddess

Daughter of the Moon Goddess is a novel inspired by Chang’E, The Chinese Moon Goddess. It follows her secret daughter, Xingyin, on an adventure once she leaves the moon to avoid been found by the Celestial Empire. This book is absolutely chock full of stuff happening – I was glued to it from a few chapters in to the end. It has big fairytale vibes, so if that’s your sort of thing, I’d definitely check it out! It’s like a more mature Six Crimson Cranes.

Star rating: 5 stars

Xingyin’s mother, the moon goddess Chang’E, was exiled to the moon for taking an immortal potion that wasn’t meant for her. She brought Xingyin with her secretly, but when Xingyin’s magic starts to break free, she must leave the moon to avoid being detected by the Celestial Empire. Xingyin finds herself in the Celestial Empire, right at the heart with the Emperor and Empress themselves. She must not reveal who she is, but do everything in her power to break the enchantment that keeps her mother tied to the moon.

Xingyin’s story spans many years. She makes herself strong, attracts attention from powerful individuals and fights various monsters throughout. The action is none stop, which combined with the lyrical writing makes for a thrilling story written with bags of style. I love Xingyin as a protagonist, she is both innocent and strong – I loved her big hearted nature. I also enjoyed her growing friendships with others, including the Crown Prince and her combat teacher, and the way she never forgot where she came from and what her roots are.

From the romance to the light politics, I pretty much enjoyed every element of this book. It even ended quite neatly, so I’m excited to see what happens in the final book of the duology! I have high hopes for more romance, more dragons and a whole lot of adventure for Xingyin! I recommend this book for fans of Six Crimson Cranes and Priory of the Orange Tree.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s